The lady Elizabeth; Book review. 

The lady Elizabeth. By Alison Weir.

This is the second book I’ve read by Alison Weir, I reviewed the first one here.  

From the inside flap; 

Now, in her second novel, Alison Weir goes to the heart of Tudor England at its most dangerous and faction-riven in telling the story of Elizabeth I before she became queen. The towering capricious figure of Henry VIII dominates her childhood, but others play powerful roles: Mary, first a loving sister, then as queen a lethal threat; Edward, the rigid and sad little King; Thomas Seymour, the Lord High Admiral, whose ambitions, both political and sexual, are unbridled. And, an ever-present ghost, the enigmatic, seductive figure of her mother Anne Boleyn, executed by Henry, whose story Elizabeth must unravel.Elizabeth learns early that the adult world contains many threats that have to be negotiated if she is to keep her heart and her head.

The lady Elizabeth is about the life of Elizabeth, daughter of Henry VIII and Anne Boleyn. As I said when I wrote about Katherine of Aragon I know very little about past royal history aside from what I learnt in primary school so the story of Elizabeth was quite new to me, and what a story. 

This book is so well written and the depth of the authors knowledge really shines through. I was absolutely enthralled as I read about what was a terribly difficult life. The fact and fiction are woven together in such a way that I felt as though I was really learning about Elizabeth without the story being too sensationalised. 

Elizabeth comes across as a remarkably strong, brave young lady despite being imprisoned by her sister the Queen Mary. 

The story is one of suspense, tragedy and high drama as the royal court is full of suspicion, mistrust and plotting. Loyalties are tested at every turn. It makes for a fascinating glimpse of life in those times. 

Once again Alison Weir has written a masterpiece of a book. It was both delightful to read and incredibly moving. I’m giving it a full ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ because I just couldn’t put it down. 

I’m about to start another Alison Weir book Innocent traitor and I’m confident I’ll enjoy it as much as the first two. 

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

