Carrot soup (#vegan) 

I had a bag of carrots that hadn’t been used, I tend to buy carrots every week for making pasta sauce but this week I hadn’t made any, so I thought I’d try making carrot soup. 

I like to find the easiest way to do anything because time is something I’m often short of (unlike carrots). 

I googled a few recipes to get ideas and then I set about working with what I had. 

I used 

  • A bag of carrots (peeled and sliced, the cheapest ones are perfectly good, they are going to be blended anyway) 
  • 2 medium potatoes (peeled and diced) 
  • 1 brown onion (peeled and sliced)
  • 2 garlic cloves (peeled and sliced) 
  • A chunk of frozen chopped ginger 
  • A handful of red lentils
  • 1 and a half pints of water
  • A vegetable stock pot 
  • Black pepper 
  • If I’d had coriander, which I thought I did, I’d have used that too. 


I bunged the ingredients into the slow cooker, left it on high for 7 hours, then whizzed it all up in the blender. 

It made four good portions of soup, which I poured into tubs, two for the fridge and two for the freezer, and was absolutely delicious with a nice smooth but thick consistency. 

It’s particularly good for dunking bread. 

One thought on “Carrot soup (#vegan) 

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

