#Vegan cottage pie. 

Cottage pie has always been one of my favourite meals. When I was vegetarian I would use Quorn mince. As I’m now vegan Quorn mince is no longer an option so I bought the Sainsbury’s meat free mince, which is suitable for vegans and is also exceptionally tasty. (In my opinion it’s much tastier than Quorn). 

To make my cottage pie I use 

  • One tin of chopped tomatoes (basic brands are absolutely fine) 
  • 1/2 bag of Sainsbury’s meat free mince. 
  • 1 onion – chopped 
  • 1 leek – chopped
  • 2 large carrots – chopped 
  • A cupful of garden peas 
  • A handful of lentils 
  • 4 large potatoes (I like to use big baking potatoes because they seem to make the best mash) 
  • Flora freedom (for mashing) 
  • Black pepper to taste 
  • Dried rosemary (not essential) 
  • Vegan vegetable stock pot. 

Bung the tin of tomatoes, the mince, the vegetables and the vegetable stock pot in the slow cooker then add some black pepper and a sprinkle of rosemary. 

Put the slow cooker on high for about five hours. 

Then make mashed potatoes, adding a good blob of flora freedom and a little black pepper. 

Put the mince mixture into a Pyrex dish, top with the mash and bake for 15-20 minutes. 

And voila a hearty delicious vegan meal. 
The Sainsbury’s meat feee mince is very good. I would give it ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

2 thoughts on “#Vegan cottage pie. 

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

