My sister lives on the mantelpiece. Book review. 

My sister lives on the mantelpiece. By Annabel Pitcher. 

Narrated by ten-year-old Jamie, this is a stunning debut novel about the tragedy that tears apart his family after a terrorist attack, and how they rebuild their lives.

This is a book about a family whose lives were torn apart when Rose was killed by a bomb five years ago. Their story is told by 10 year old James. He doesn’t really remember Rose and struggles with the fact that his parents seem to stop caring after her death. 

James ends up in a new school, living with his 15 year old sister Jasmine (Rose’s twin) and their alcoholic father. 

This book tackles grief, having one alcoholic parent while being abandoned by the other and racial prejudice. 

It’s funny in parts, I found the storytelling through the eyes of a ten year old refreshing and honest, in parts it’s a terribly sad story. 

The author has done an exceptionally good job of getting into the head of a ten year old boy. I really liked Jamie and at times I felt almost unbearably sad for him. 

I’ve had this book for years and had kept shuffling it to the bottom of my pile, but I wish I’d read it sooner. I actually read it all in one go because I couldn’t put it down. 

The book is aimed at 12 years and upwards, but I enjoyed it very much as an adult. 

I wholeheartedly recommend My sister lives on the mantelpiece of and it deserves a full five stars ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

