The affair. Book review. 

The affair by Amanda Brooke. 

When Nina finds out that her fifteen-year-old daughter, Scarlett, is pregnant, her world falls apart. 

Because Scarlett won’t tell anyone who the father is. And Nina is scared that the answer will destroy everything. 

Is it Scarlett’s teacher, who’s been giving her extra tuition? 

Or maybe Nina’s new husband of less than a year, who seems to have grown close to her daughter? Nina must find out, even if it breaks her – and family- apart …

I don’t think I’d have picked the book myself, I read it after a recommendation from my mum because I’m open to read almost anything. 

The story was a good one, and it’s something that could well happen, the characters were quite well developed, and at times it was quite moving, so I did enjoy the book, but I must be honest with you, it was quite predictable, I’d guessed who the father was right from the beginning. 

I would have appreciated the plot twist better if it had been more of a shock. 

I’m giving The Affair 3/5 because the story is meant to keep the reader guessing and it just didn’t. 
I’d recommend borrowing this book from a library rather than buying it because although it’s a good-enough read I’m not sure it’s worth the financial investment. 

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

