Keep me safe ; book review 

Keep me safe. By Daniela Sacerdoti. 

Anna has had a difficult life, neglected by her mother as a child, then an unhappy marriage, her daughter Ava is everything to her. When Ava’s father leaves them she is so traumatised that she doesn’t speak for three days. 

When she does speak again she asks for her mum. Her other mum. 

Ava talks about memories of a place she’s never been to, with another mum. Anna discovers that Ava is remembering a beautiful island called Seal and desperate to help her daughter they set off on a journey that will change their lives. 

I absolutely loved this book, the first in a trilogy. The writing was just beautiful,  the story unwinds slowly but is utterly captivating and kept me intrigued all the way through. There’s a touch of supernatural woven into the story and yet it feels believable, and the delightfully descriptive writing had me closing me eyes, imagining life on the island of seal. The book is narrated through different characters perspectives, which is something I’m not always keen on as if it’s not done well it can become confusing, but Daniela Sacerdoti has done it well, the characters are so well defined that the changes of perspective are no trouble to keep up with at all. 

This was the first book I’ve read by Daniela Sacerdoti but it’s left me wanting to read more of her work, and I can’t wait for the next in the Seal trilogy. 

Keep me safe is out on Thursday April 6th and it’s one I wholeheartedly recommend. 

I was given a copy of Keep me safe for review purposes but all thoughts and opinions are my own. 

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

