Bearly departed; book review. 

Bearly departed. By Meg Macy. Release date 30th May 2017 

As manager of the family teddy bear shop and factory, thirty-one-year-old Sasha Silverman leads a charmed life. Well, except for the part about being a single divorcée with a ticking biological clock in small-town Silver Hollow. And that’s just kid’s stuff compared to Will Taylor, the sales rep who’s set on making drastic changes to the business her parents built from scratch—with or without Sasha’s approval . 

But before Will digs his claws in, someone pulls the stuffing out of his plan . . . and leaves his dead body inside the factory. Reeling from shock, Sasha’s hit with more bad news—police suspect her hot-tempered Uncle Ross may have murdered him. Sasha knows her uncle would never do such a thing, and she’s launching her own little investigation to expose the truth. As she tracks Will’s biggest rivals and enemies for clues, Sasha can’t get too comfy—or she’ll become the next plaything for a killer . . .

Murder mystery books are not usually my cup of tea but Bearly departed, the first in a new series, has changed my mind. 

Set in a small American town Silver Hollow, where everyone knows everyone else, and all their business,  Sasha Silverman takes it upon herself to find out who murdered Will Taylor in her family’s teddy bear factory. 

I was reminded of the TV series, murder she wrote – with Sasha doing the rounds of the neighbours, asking questions and snooping – and I liked it! 

The large cast of characters and the various town businesses are introduced really well, the author uses Sasha, walking her dog, Rosie, to give us a feel for the town and the locals, and I felt like I was really clear on who was who and where they worked. 

There’s nothing worse, when reading a book with quite a large cast of characters, than spending half of the time trying to remember who the heck someone is, but Meg Macy has made it easy to know who’s who, and she writes with an attention to detail that really helps to set the scene. 

I really enjoyed the plot, it  and try as I did, I couldn’t work out who the murderer was, a few times I thought perhaps I’d got it figured out, but I’m clearly not as good an amateur detective as Sasha Silverman. 

I will definitely be snapping up the next in the series Bear witness to murder although I have to wait until June 2018. 

Bearly departed gets four out of five from me because the scene setting and character development is spot on, and the mystery kept me guessing right till the end. ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

I received a free digital copy of Bearly departed via Netgalley for review purposes but all thoughts and opinions are my own. 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

