Lemon and bay roast potatoes. 

I’m not much of a cook, but there are a few things I do well, very well. If you were to ask me what I’m best at – and let’s imagine you have asked me – I would say roast potatoes, with no hesitation. 

I like my roast potatoes perfectly crispy on the outside, whilst soft and fluffy on the inside, and I like them flavour-y, a plain roast potato, while still a very good thing, just doesn’t do it for me. 

I peel and cut a bag of potatoes, I use Maris Piper from Waitrose, (it does make a difference WHAT potatoes you use), I cut them roughly into quarters. 

Boiling them for just the right amount of time is very important, I boil them almost to the point of mashable, but not quite. When I can get a fork through to the middle with ease they are done. It takes around 8 minutes but depends on the size and the type of potato, so I hover over the pan, watching and prodding. 

After draining the water from the pan I pop the lid on, and while holding tight, so the lid actually stays on, I tip the pan over quickly, twice, this helps to get them nice and fluffy. 

I leave them be for a few moments, and pour some olive oil, a couple of good glugs, into my roasting dish, add a few lemon slices, four garlic cloves, and a few bay leaves.  


The dish goes into the oven for a couple of minutes, then I pour everything from the dish into the potato pan, put the lid on and give it one more upside down shake. Then tip it all onto the roasting dish, then I sprinkle the rosemary over the potatoes. 


Now, how long to leave the lemon in the dish for is a matter of preference, the kids like it best if I take them lemon out at this point, but I prefer the lemon to stay in the dish for the whole of the cooking time. 

I roast the potatoes for around 80 minutes on gas mark 7. Halfway through I’ll turn them all over. 

Then serve them without the lemon, garlic, or bay leaves. 

Perfect potatoes. 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

