Be true to me. Review. 

Be true to me. By Adele Griffin, release date June 13th 2017. Teens and YA. 

It’s the summer of 1976 on Fire Island, where feathered hair and the Bicentennial celebration reign. Jean, a sometimes cruel, often insecure, and always envious rich girl, is accustomed to living in her glamorous older sister’s shadow. So when Gil Burke, a handsome newcomer with uncertain ties to one of the most powerful families in the exclusive enclave of Sunken Haven, notices Jean—not her sister—Jean is smitten. Then Fritz, a girl from outside the gilded gates who humiliated Jean in the Island’s tennis championship last year, falls for Gil herself. Soon the girls are competing for much more than a tennis trophy, with higher stakes than either of them can imagine.

Through the alternating perspectives of Jean and Fritz, Adele Griffin captures the angst of feeling like you don’t belong and the urgency of first love with masterly prose and a sharp wit perfect for fans of E. Lockhart’s We Were Liars.

I was lucky enough to read a sneak peek of this book via Netgalley and let me tell you I am already hooked. Hooked! 

I am so ready to get lost in the summer of ’76, I enjoyed my all-too-short journey to Fire Island and I can’t wait to be transported back again. 

Already I have a favourite between Jean and Fritz, although I’m entirely sure I’ll change my mind a few times along the way. 

I just know this book is going to be a perfect summer read and I can’t wait until June 13th when I’ll be able to read the whole thing. 

The writing is on point in this book, I loved this line …

Did Daphne act the way she looked, or did she look the way she acted?

Even the cover of the book captures summer perfectly, and I don’t know about you, but I think it would look so good on a hot summers day, on a blanket, under a tree, or if you’re lucky enough, on a beach! 

This is definitely going to the top of my wish list, and I wholeheartedly recommend putting June 13th in your diary, because this is one to snap up. 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

