Summer at Hope Meadows; book review. 

Summer at Hope Meadows. By Lucy Daniels. Release date June 1st. 

The first novel in the heartwarming, Yorkshire-set Hope Meadows series, perfect for fans of Cathy Bramley, Cathy Woodman and Katie Fforde.

Based on the globally bestselling Animal Ark series. 
Newly-qualified vet Mandy Hope is leaving Leeds – and her fiancé Simon – to return to the Yorkshire village she grew up in. There, she will help out in her parents’ surgery whilst they’re short-staffed. Mandy’s life has always revolved around her work with rescued animals, and Welford offers an opportunity to work with creatures of all sizes, from hedgehogs and puppies to farm stock and even wild deer.
But rural Yorkshire is very different to the hustle and bustle of a big city. Mandy must work hard to be accepted by the close-knit village community, and convince them of her abilities as a vet – especially Jimmy Marsh, the gruff owner of the local Outward Bound business, with whom she just can’t seem to get along. 

When some long-neglected animals are discovered in a critical state on a nearby farm, Mandy is determined to prove herself as a confident and fearless vet. When it comes to protecting animals in need, she’s prepared to do whatever it takes…

Summer at Hope Meadows is without a doubt the summer read of 2017 as far as I’m concerned. 

This book is the first in a new series, and the author has taken her time to lay a solid foundation for what promises to be a really good series. 

I not only felt introduced to a whole cast of characters, I felt like I really had the time to know them, none of the characters felt as though they were simply there to fill a page, each of them plays a part in the story. 

I was able to build up a vivid picture of Welford, Animal Ark and all the surrounding places, I almost felt at home there, because of the wonderfully descriptive writing. 

The storyline was thoroughly enjoyable, it branched of into a few smaller storylines which all came together perfectly. 

Because Summer at Hope Meadows is set in and around a veterinary practice and rescue centre we meet lots of different animals, and their owners, which helps to make a lively, fresh story. 

There is a romance brewing but because this is the first in a series the author hasn’t rushed into it, the romance plays like background music rather than dominating and dumbing down a very likeable plot. 

I haven’t got a single negative thing to say about this book, I am left completely hooked, and excited to find out what’s next for Mandy, and her loveable new sidekick, Sky. 

Summer at Hope Meadows will leave you feeling cosy and uplifted. It’s a perfect read for the beach, on a blanket in the park – with a picnic perhaps, or curled up in your favourite chair with a supply of tea and cake. Giving this book 5 stars was an easy decision! ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

I wholeheartedly recommend Summer at Hope Meadows, its released on June 1st, available for Pre-order now on Amazon. 

I received a free copy of this book via Netgalley for review purposes but all thoughts and opinions are my own. 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: