My best stir fry (vegan) 

You probably know how to make a stir fry because, well,  it’s stirring and frying, but I’d like to tell you how I make my favourite stir fry. (It’s also my twelve year olds favourite dinner).

These quantities make enough for two good portions. 

  • Red pepper, chopped (I like all of the vegetables chopped as small as I can get them) 
  • Green pepper
  • Yellow pepper
  • Red onion
  • Carrot
  • Spring onion – I use about 5-6 
  • Chopped ginger – thumb sized chunk. (I buy frozen chopped ginger) 
  • Handful of spinach 
  • 8 Brussel sprouts (I buy frozen ones, so I cook as directed, then add them to the pan) 
  • 2 garlic cloves (crushed or chopped) 
  • Soy sauce, two glugs (vegan) 
  • 1/2 bag bean sprouts 
  • 1/2 bag rice noodles
  • Oil for cooking 

Now, I don’t know about you, but I like the veg to be quite soft, so the cooking time is kind of dependent on how you like your veg, but trust me a little here. 

  • I heat the oil in my pan (a good non stick pan is important, I don’t have an actual wok, you don’t need one, I have an excellent pan from ikea). 
  • Then chuck in the veg,  add the soy sauce, and cook on low for around ten minutes.
  • Then I add the bean sprouts and keep the heat on low for around fifteen minutes.
  • Then I add the noodles and spinach, and cook for five minutes more. 

         ~ stirring all the while~ 

Serve and enjoy!  – I like a good sprinkle of black pepper on mine. 

Tip : Cauldron vegan sausages go very well with stir fry. I cut them into pieces after cooking and then stirred them into the (cooked) stir fry. 

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

