The little shop of happy ever after. Book review. 

The little shop of happy ever after, by Jenny Colgan. 

From the inside flap. 

Given a back-room computer job when the beloved Birmingham library she works in turns into a downsized retail complex, Nina misses her old role terribly – dealing with people, greeting her regulars, making sure everyone gets the right books for their needs. Then a new business nobody else wants catches her eye: owning a tiny little bookshop bus up in the Scottish highlands. No computers. Shortages. Out all hours in the freezing cold; driving with a tiny stock of books… not to mention how the little community is going to take to her, particularly when she stalls the bus on a level crossing…

From what I’ve read so far Jenny Colgan’s books are quite formulaic. The leading character is invariably a girl who has a bit of a crap life, or isn’t feeling fulfilled, the girl makes a huge change, usually uprooting and moving somewhere new, starts a new life, enjoys the new life and finds love. 

In fact there are a huge number of books following that exact formula right now, usually involving a shop, particularly book shops or cafés. 

That’s not to say I didn’t enjoy it, it’s the kind of story where you know where you are with it. It’s a bit like putting on an old pair of slippers, although I do wish that authors would begin to break away from a formula that’s in danger of getting tired soon. 

I liked Nina, her new business venture, a book shop in a van, is something I would love to do. Nina loves books and as an avid bookworm I was able to relate to her. I also enjoyed reading about the local people and how they all rediscovered a love of books,  

The romance element of the book was a little cliched, the moment I *met* the love-interest-to-be I knew how it would go. 

I won’t give anything away but I found the part of the story involving the train a little …silly, and far fetched, it didn’t ring true at all. 

Overall I did enjoy the book, it’s a light read, perfect for reading on the beach, or under the shade of a tree, on a blanket. You know what you’re going to get with it, there are no great surprises, but it ambles along nicely, so if you enjoy the well worn formula I expect you’ll like The little shop of happy ever after. 

I’m giving this book 3 out of 5 stars (if the was a half star icon I’d give it 3 and a 1/2). ⭐️⭐️⭐️

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

