The woman at number 24. Book review. 

The woman at number 24. By Juliet Ashton. 

Meet the residents of number 24 in the warm, witty and wonderful new novel from bestselling author Juliet Ashton. When your marriage falls apart, the last place you’d want your husband to move to is downstairs. Unfortunately for Sarah, up in the eaves at number 24, her ex-husband now lives one floor beneath her with his new wife. Their happiness floats up through the floorboards, taunting her. A child psychologist, Sarah has picked up great sadness from the little girl, Una, who lives with her careworn mother three floors below, but is Sarah emotionally equipped to reach out? 

Number 24 is a big old house on Notting hill, in the book we meet the various inhabitants of the flats within number 24. 

Sarah, the leading lady, child psychologist- who isn’t happy in her job anymore- lives in the attic flat. Upstairs from her ex husband and his new wife. We also meet Jane and Tom, just moved in, Mavis, a cranky elderly lady with a secret,  and Una, the young girl who is also being affected by a secret. Una lives with her mum, who’s name I can’t even remember because she just didn’t stand out as a character. 

The woman at number 24 is the story of the developing relationships between the neighbours, with twists and turns along the way. 

Now, I absolutely hate being negative in a book review but if I’m not going to be honest there’s little point in writing them. 

I wanted to like this book, the idea of a bunch of neighbours all in one big house appealed to me because I’m somewhat of a people watcher, I love observing, or reading about the individual nuances and quirks of people, and seeing how they work, or perhaps, don’t work, together with other people. But apart from Sarah, who, if I’m honest I found a bit spineless and irritating, and Mavis, we don’t actually get to know the other neighbours that much at all. 

The story had far too many threads, some of which were just boring. The whole Smithy storyline bored me, and wasn’t nearly as intriguing as I suspect it was meant to be, and the plot twist involving Tom did nothing for me. Im not even sure if the clues were too far too subtle, or if there weren’t any clues. If there weren’t, there should have been. I’m all for a book having multiple threads, but I feel that if you go down that path, the threads have to done really well. I’d rather read a book with one thread that had  substance, than one with weak threads and plot twists all over the place. 

I don’t think I liked any of the characters and the ending was a bit twee. 

It’s with a heavy heart that I’m giving this book just 2 stars out of 5. It just didn’t float my boat. ⭐️⭐️

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

