All that she can see. Book review. 

I really did want to enjoy this book. I bought it on publication day and couldn’t wait to get stuck in. 

I hadn’t enjoyed Carrie’s previous book so I was actually really keen to see how she had improved in her writing. 

I like Carrie, on social media she comes across as a very hardworking, likeable young lady, she speaks out about feminism, body positivity and such things, she seems to me a good role model and I’m always rooting for good people to do well. 

Cherry has always been able to see what others can’t see. Peoples feelings. She sees their bad feelings, and when she realises she can bake good feelings into her cakes she sets about helping others. Moving from town to town opening bakeries. When Cherry finds out she’s not the only one, everything changes. 

The first few chapters were good and I was enjoying the story. The premise is a good one, Cherry can see people’s feelings, their bad feelings, so she tries to help them by putting good feelings into her baked goods. I liked getting to know a little about each of the various customers. 

It was quite charming, although I still don’t see the point of Cherry wearing pyjamas ALL OF THE TIME, and going out in outdoor slippers? 

Cherry – just buy some shoes, mate. 

There were some things that irked me throughout. I felt a little like the book was ticking off a checklist. 

Person of colour ✔️

Gay dads ✔️ (although one was dead and one had left years ago, so although they were mentioned they weren’t really featured in the book at all, representing without really representing?) 

Twee message about feelings ✔️

There were more, I’m sure there was mention of a lesbian couple who actually didn’t feature in the book at all, other than that one mention. 

I’m not sure how to explain this well, but it felt like the publishers maybe said  “Right, Carrie, can you mention this, this, and this?” 

I felt like there was a lot of unnecessary swearing. Don’t get me wrong, I’m no prude and have no issue with swearing in a book but it just didn’t really fit the tone of the book, and the line where Chase says “My bare balls are touching the floor over here” again, not something I actually have a problem with reading, but it didn’t fit with what started out as a charming magical story. The instant relationship between Cherry and Chase was a bit much too, they had literally just met days ago, and yet …

“It would kill me to never hear that mischief in your voice again, to know I’d never see that playful cheeky smile”

Cherry, you just met him! Calm down. 

It felt like Carrie was maybe trying to make the book more ‘grown up’ but dropping in a bunch of swears, perhaps hoping it would appeal to a wider group than her hopefuls, but it was a perfectly good, sweet, charming, magical story as it was.

At least the first half was….

Halfway through, the tone of the story changes, it’s less magical cakes, and more… bundling people into vans, to be horribly experimented on and forcefully implanting lenses into their eyeballs. 

A lot happened in the second half, lots of information and lots of action, but the action was a little flat, and the information, lost amongst too much information. 

The ending felt quite abrupt and and unsatifying. 

All that she can see has the bones of a good story, it absolutely does, It’s just not quite there. 

I wonder if there’s too much pressure now to get books out, and quickly, especially with YouTubers. Carrie is by no means just a Youtuber, she’s a very successful singer and actress, but she does have a large YouTube and social media following. 

All that she can see will definitely do well because Carrie has a dedicated following of hopefuls, but, despite really wanting to enjoy this book it just didn’t do it for me. 

I’m giving it 3 and half out of 5 because as I said, the bones of a really good story are there, Carrie Hope Fletcher clearly has a wonderful imagination, and the first half off the book really was quite good. 

⭐️⭐️⭐️1/2 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

