Homemade banana hair mask. #Vegan.

Swimming 2-3 times a week has been taking its toll on my hair. Recently it's been feeling so dry and really tangly.

In the early hours of the morning when I couldn't sleep last night I was thinking about how I used to love the Body shop banana shampoo.

Which led me to thinking that banana must be good for your hair. So I googled it and found lots of recipes for banana hair masks.

Obviously I had to try.

I didn't want to spend any money, because then I'd have just gone to the body shop and bought their banana shampoo. So I wanted to use only things I already had in the house.

I decided to use the following

  • 2 bananas (2 because I have long hair)
  • 2 teaspoons of olive oil
  • 2 teaspoons of coconut oil

I put everything into the blender and blitzed it until it looked properly mixed together.

I smothered my hair with the mixture, making especially sure to get plenty onto the dry ends.
It felt really creamy on my hands and not particularly oily so it wasn't yukky to work into my hair.

It also smelt so good!

I had a little left over so I decided to put that on my face, waste not want not!

I decided to leave the mixture in for 30 minutes. At the end of the 30 minutes my hair felt quite gross and crispy but the mixture was really easy to wash out. I used Superdrug's extracts shampoo – coconut and sweet almond.

I don't like to blow dry my hair, but I was impatient to see how my hair felt so I gave it a quick blow dry on the lowest heat.

Did it work?

Yes!! My hair feels so good. It's softer than it's been for such a long time, it's not tangly, and it still has a hint of banana scent. I'm going to treat my hair to the banana mixture every week.

Oh, and my face feels as soft as newborn skin too!

You cannot tell from a photo but my hair feels so soft and so clean.

So you make any natural beauty products at home? Let me know.

2 thoughts on “Homemade banana hair mask. #Vegan.

Add yours

  1. That sounds just great! Strange thing is that up to 70s, all females wore swimming caps for hygiene in pools. Then when men started to have long hair, they tried to make them wear caps too. They wouldn’t so women didn’t either! I’d like to still wear a swimming cap but I’d feel odd. What do you think?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

